Skip to content

Practice software

A Covetrus Pulse alternative for independent vet clinics

PetGrid is a Covetrus Pulse alternative for independent clinics that want a published price and practice software that does not depend on their supplier. Pulse is the better choice if you already buy pharmacy and supplies from Covetrus and want the software in the same relationship.

This is the short read: why clinics look, where Pulse is the better choice and where PetGrid fits, with a source for every claim about Pulse. For all 36 rows in eight tables, see PetGrid vs Covetrus Pulse, every feature side by side.

Why clinics look for a Covetrus Pulse alternative

The first reason is that Covetrus does not publish a price for Pulse, on any page we could find. Pulse is cloud practice software from Covetrus, a company that also distributes drugs and supplies to clinics, and it has 542 reviews on Capterra at 4.0 stars. Capterra lists it as contact vendor.

  • No price to compare. Covetrus's online pharmacy says pricing depends on your practice's size and needs, and Pulse itself shows no figure.
  • A closer tie to one supplier. Inventory connects to Covetrus Supply and prescriptions to Covetrus's pharmacy. That is convenient, and it also binds your software to where you buy.
  • Several products, several terms. Owner booking and texting come through Covetrus Comms, and the owner portal is GreatPetCare, a separate product.
  • Little published detail. Covetrus does not describe Pulse's invoicing, tax handling, record corrections, data export or contract terms on the pages we checked.

Our guide to veterinary practice management software in Canada puts Pulse and PetGrid next to the other main options if you are comparing more widely.

Where Covetrus Pulse is the better choice

Covetrus Pulse is the better choice if you already buy pharmacy and supplies from Covetrus and want the software in the same relationship, or if you want an online pharmacy with home delivery tied into prescribing.

  • Pharmacy. Scripts are created, approved and renewed within Pulse, and vRxPro offers shipping and AutoShip; Canadian availability is not stated. PetGrid has refill requests a vet approves, but no pharmacy.
  • Inventory and ordering. Pulse connects to Covetrus Supply. PetGrid's inventory is basic, with no purchase orders, automatic reordering or supplier price feeds.
  • Texting. Covetrus Comms offers two-way texting with images, automated texts, emails and postcards. PetGrid's two-way texting is new and part of the paid AI Front Desk add-on.
  • Support. Covetrus offers chat Monday to Friday 8am to 9pm ET and a phone line, with emergencies after hours. PetGrid offers email support on weekdays, with no phone line.

Neither has a live phone feature. Covetrus does not describe one for Pulse, and PetGrid's AI Front Desk is rolling out as clinics' phone lines are connected, with no clinic live on it yet.

Is PetGrid a good Covetrus Pulse alternative?

Yes, for an independent clinic that wants a published price and software separate from its supplier. If you want Covetrus's pharmacy and supply ecosystem, Pulse is the better fit.

  • A price you can compare before a call. $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, with no setup fee. Vet techs, front desk and pet owners are free. See pricing.
  • Software that does not depend on your supplier. PetGrid sells no drugs, supplies or hardware, so nothing about your software is tied to where you buy them.
  • The owner app included. In your clinic's name, logo and colour, owners request appointments, see visits, vaccines and invoices, ask for refills and chat with your team. See the app for your clients.
  • Records built to the CVO standard. Entries are never edited, corrections are addenda with their own author, date and reason, and the complete record is released in one click. See patient records.
  • AI in every plan, a person in charge. AI Assist drafts SOAP notes, summarises a patient's history and drafts replies; owners get vet-approved visit summaries and Pip. A person approves everything AI writes.
  • Your data, in and out. Clients, pets and visit history import free from CSV or Excel, and an admin can download the whole clinic as one ZIP at any time. See import and export.

PetGrid is independent of any distributor, and narrower than Pulse: no pharmacy, basic inventory and no independent security audit yet.

Covetrus Pulse and PetGrid at a glance

The rows that decide most choices, from Covetrus's pages and Capterra, checked 26 September 2026
What mattersPetGridCovetrus Pulse
Price on the vendor's siteYesNo, contact vendor
Owner appIncluded, in your clinic's nameGreatPetCare, a separate product
PharmacyRefill requests a vet approvesvRxPro, with shipping and AutoShip
InventoryBasicWith Covetrus Supply
Two-way textingYes, with the paid AI Front Desk add-onThrough Covetrus Comms
SupportEmail, weekdaysChat, phone and after-hours emergencies
Whole-clinic exportOne ZIP, any timeNot stated
Independent auditNo, not yetNot stated

See every feature side by side: 36 rows in eight grouped tables, AI, security and data export included, each with a one-line verdict.

What does Covetrus Pulse cost compared with PetGrid?

Covetrus does not publish a price for Pulse, and we found no third-party figure reliable enough to repeat. Ask Covetrus for a quote, and ask separately about Covetrus Comms and GreatPetCare.

PetGrid is $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, monthly with no long-term contract: $529 CAD a month for three vets, the owner app included. Every practice starts with 14 days free, no card needed. We found no contract terms for Pulse, so ask for the term, the notice period and whether data conversion is charged. The pricing questions in the clinic FAQ cover the rest.

The verdict: Covetrus Pulse or PetGrid?

Pick Covetrus Pulse if one company for software, supplies and pharmacy is worth a quoted price. Pick PetGrid if you want the whole price up front, the owner app included, records that are never edited and software that stays the same wherever you buy.

Questions people ask

Is PetGrid a good Covetrus Pulse alternative?

For an independent clinic that wants a published price and software separate from its supplier, yes. If you want Covetrus's pharmacy and supply ecosystem, Pulse is the better fit.

How much does Covetrus Pulse cost?

Covetrus does not publish a price for Pulse, and we found no third-party figure reliable enough to repeat. PetGrid is $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian.

Can I keep buying from Covetrus if I use PetGrid?

Yes. PetGrid sells no drugs or supplies, so where you buy them is up to you. There is no integration with Covetrus's pharmacy or supply ordering.

Does PetGrid have an online pharmacy like Covetrus?

No. A vet issues prescriptions on the chart, and owners ask for refills from the app, where each request waits for a veterinarian to approve or decline. There is no home delivery or AutoShip.

How do I move my data from Pulse to PetGrid?

Export your clients, pets and visit history as CSV or Excel files and import them into PetGrid for free, checking every row before it is saved. Covetrus references a Pulse data conversion guide, so ask how to get a full export. Our post on switching veterinary software without losing data covers the details.

Read the clinic questions and answers

The short version

Covetrus Pulse is a capable cloud system that is strongest inside Covetrus's own pharmacy, supply and texting products, with longer support hours and a phone line. PetGrid is the Covetrus Pulse alternative for an independent clinic that wants a price it can compare up front, an owner app included and software that does not depend on where it buys drugs and supplies.

If that is the clinic you run, try PetGrid with 14 days free and no card, and see how it fits your week.

Switching to PetGrid

Questions about switching? Ask Theo

Theo, PetGrid's AI assistant, helps any clinic with switching, from moving your records to what comes across. When Theo cannot answer, someone from the PetGrid team calls you back.

Or call Theo now: (365) 217-9922

Or message Theo on WhatsAppOn a computer? Scan with your phone to open WhatsApp.

Theo only calls during calling hours where you are: 9:00 to 21:30 on weekdays, 10:00 to 18:00 at weekends. Outside them, Theo calls the next weekday morning.

Have Theo call me

See PetGrid in your own clinic: the console, the AI drafts and the app your clients get, with your own data.

Start your free trial
Book a demoCall Theo, our AI assistant (365) 217-9922

Prices in CAD

Sources

Every fact about another product or organisation comes from these pages, read on the date shown.