Skip to content

Practice software

An AVImark alternative for clinics done with the back-room server

A good AVImark alternative is a cloud system that removes the server from your building, publishes its price and moves your records across without a conversion bill. PetGrid is an AVImark alternative built that way: it runs in the cloud, costs $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, and imports your clients, pets and visit history for free.

AVImark is a Covetrus system that has run a great many clinics for a long time, and it is still supported, so nothing forces a move. This is the short read: why clinics look, where AVImark is the better choice, where PetGrid fits and how to move. For all 36 rows in eight tables, see PetGrid vs AVImark, every feature side by side.

Why clinics look for an AVImark alternative

Clinics look for an AVImark alternative mainly because of the server: what it costs, who maintains it and what happens to the records if it fails. AVImark is Covetrus's on-premise system, with 599 reviews on Capterra at 4.1 stars, and Capterra's profile says it runs in over 11,000 veterinary hospitals. The price is the second reason, because Covetrus does not publish one.

  • Your records live on a server in the building. A flood, a theft or a failed drive is a records problem, not just an IT problem.
  • Servers cost money on a cycle. Covetrus's own cost-of-ownership article puts server hardware for server-based software at US$3,000 to US$7,000, replaced every three to five years, plus support and backup costs. It does not name AVImark specifically, but the arithmetic is the same.
  • Remote access is remote desktop. Covetrus's own support runs remote sessions through TeamViewer.
  • No published price. Covetrus publishes no price for AVImark, and Capterra lists it as contact vendor.

None of this is a deadline. AVImark is supported, so move when it suits you, not because you feel pushed.

Is PetGrid a good AVImark alternative?

PetGrid is a good AVImark alternative for a clinic that wants the server out of the building, a published price, an owner app and a free move. It is not the right choice if you depend on AVImark's inventory, reordering or pharmacy connections.

  • No server to own. PetGrid runs in the cloud. There is no machine in the back room to back up, patch or replace.
  • A price you can read. $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, monthly with no long-term contract, and no setup fee.
  • An owner app in your clinic's name. Owners request appointments, see records, ask for refills and chat with your team, included in the price; see the app for your clients.
  • AI in every plan, a person in charge. AI Assist drafts SOAP notes from shorthand or dictation, summarises a patient's history and drafts replies; owners get vet-approved visit summaries and Pip. A person approves everything AI writes.
  • Your data, out whenever you want it. Reports download as CSV and an admin can download the whole clinic as one ZIP at any time. See import and export.
  • Security, stated plainly. Each clinic's records are walled off by row-level security and backups are encrypted every night. Records are encrypted in transit and at rest, and PetGrid has no SOC 2 audit yet; see the security page.

If the server is the problem, PetGrid removes it. If inventory and pharmacy integrations are the heart of your clinic, AVImark is still the stronger tool.

Where AVImark is the better choice

AVImark is the better choice if you rely on its inventory, want an online pharmacy connected to prescribing, need a phone line for support, or your team knows it well and nothing is pushing a move.

  • Inventory. AVImark offers reordering, CUBEX integration and cloud-based Intelligent Inventory. PetGrid's inventory is basic: stock tracked by lot, received and dispensed, with no purchase orders, automatic reordering or supplier price feeds.
  • Online pharmacy. AVImark integrates with the vRxPro online pharmacy and a simplified digital script process. PetGrid's prescriptions are issued on the chart, and refill requests from owners wait for a vet to approve.
  • Texting today. Through Covetrus Comms, AVImark clinics have two-way texting, emails and postcards. PetGrid's two-way texting is new, and part of the paid AI Front Desk add-on, which comes with the clinic's number.
  • Support hours and a phone line. Covetrus offers chat Monday to Friday 8am to 9pm ET, and phone and forms 9am to 7pm ET. PetGrid offers email support on weekdays, 9:00 to 17:00 Eastern Time, with no phone line.

AVImark and PetGrid at a glance

The rows that decide most choices, from Covetrus's pages and Capterra, checked 26 September 2026
What mattersPetGridAVImark
Where it runsThe cloudA server in your clinic
Price on the vendor's siteYesNo, contact vendor
Owner app includedYesNot stated
InventoryBasic, by lotReordering, CUBEX, Intelligent Inventory
TextingTwo-way, with the paid AI Front Desk add-onThrough Covetrus Comms
AI note draftsSOAP drafts a vet approvesNot stated
SupportEmail, weekdaysChat, phone and forms
Moving records inFree imports you runCovetrus conversion

See every feature side by side: 36 rows in eight grouped tables, AI, security and data export included, each with a one-line verdict.

What does AVImark cost compared with PetGrid?

Covetrus does not publish a price for AVImark, and Capterra lists it as contact vendor, so a direct comparison is not possible. PetGrid costs $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, with no server to buy.

In practice that is $349 CAD a month for a one-vet clinic and $529 CAD for three vets. Vet techs, front desk and pet owners are free. The pricing page has the details.

When you compare, count the server too: the hardware, its replacement cycle, backups and whoever looks after it. And check your AVImark agreement's notice period before you move, because we found no AVImark contract terms on Covetrus's public pages.

How to switch from AVImark to PetGrid

Switching from AVImark to PetGrid is two exports and two free imports, plus an optional third for vaccine history. Covetrus's own AVImark data conversion, by comparison, takes 3 to 5 weeks for a first pass and 1 to 2 days for the final one, with fees not stated.

  1. Export your clients and pets. AVImark exports to CSV. One row per pet, with the owner repeated across rows, is exactly what PetGrid's importer expects, and column headings do not have to match.
  2. Check the file before anything is saved. Upload it in Settings, Import. PetGrid shows you what it found, row by row, and saves nothing until you say so.
  3. Bring the history. Export visit history as a second CSV with headings close to these: Pet name, Owner email, Date, Time, Reason, Veterinarian, Notes. Each visit is filed as a completed appointment on the pet's chart, and running the same file twice adds nothing twice.
  4. Add vaccine history. Vaccine history comes in free from a third CSV, each shot with its next due date, so care reminders continue.

Lab results, prescriptions, invoices, inventory and reminders are not imported, so keep AVImark available to look things up while you settle in. Our guide to switching veterinary software without losing data walks through the whole move.

The verdict: AVImark or PetGrid?

Stay on AVImark if its inventory, pharmacy connections and phone support run your clinic and the server is no burden. Pick PetGrid if you want the server gone, the whole price up front, an owner app included and a free move.

Questions people ask

Is PetGrid a good AVImark alternative?

For a clinic that is ready to leave a server behind and wants a published price and free imports, yes. If deep inventory and Covetrus integrations matter most, staying on AVImark may be the better call.

How do I export my data from AVImark?

Export clients and pets as a CSV with one row per pet, then your visit history as a second CSV. PetGrid imports both for free and shows you every row first.

What does PetGrid not bring across from AVImark?

Vaccine history comes in from a third CSV. Lab results, prescriptions, invoices, inventory and reminders are not imported. Keep AVImark available to look things up while you settle in.

How much does AVImark cost compared with PetGrid?

Covetrus does not publish a price for AVImark. PetGrid is $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, with no server to buy.

Do I have to leave AVImark by a certain date?

No. AVImark is still supported, so there is no deadline forcing a move. Check your agreement's notice period and move when it suits the clinic.

Does PetGrid have inventory like AVImark?

Only basic inventory. PetGrid tracks stock by lot, received and dispensed, but has no purchase orders, automatic reordering or supplier price feeds. If you rely on AVImark's reordering or CUBEX integration, that gap matters.

Read the clinic questions and answers

The short version

AVImark is a capable, long-serving system, and its inventory and pharmacy tools are ahead of PetGrid's. PetGrid is the AVImark alternative for the clinic that wants the server gone, a price it can read, an owner app included and a move that costs nothing.

The clearest way to decide is to try it with your own export and see what PetGrid makes of it before anything is saved. Common questions are answered in the switching FAQ, and the veterinary practice management software roundup compares the wider field.

Switching to PetGrid

Questions about switching? Ask Theo

Theo, PetGrid's AI assistant, helps any clinic with switching, from moving your records to what comes across. When Theo cannot answer, someone from the PetGrid team calls you back.

Or call Theo now: (365) 217-9922

Or message Theo on WhatsAppOn a computer? Scan with your phone to open WhatsApp.

Theo only calls during calling hours where you are: 9:00 to 21:30 on weekdays, 10:00 to 18:00 at weekends. Outside them, Theo calls the next weekday morning.

Have Theo call me

See PetGrid in your own clinic: the console, the AI drafts and the app your clients get, with your own data.

Start your free trial
Book a demoCall Theo, our AI assistant (365) 217-9922

Prices in CAD

Sources

Every fact about another product or organisation comes from these pages, read on the date shown.