PetGrid vs Provet Cloud, in short: Provet Cloud is ahead on inventory, the AI scribe, messaging, security certifications and support, and PetGrid is ahead on the owner app, monthly terms and getting your data out. This page sets the two side by side in 36 rows, grouped into eight tables, each with a one-line verdict.
Every Provet Cloud cell comes from Provet's own pages, read on 26 September 2026, and every PetGrid cell is what the product does today. For the shorter read on why clinics look elsewhere and where Provet is the better choice, see our Provet Cloud alternative guide.
How this PetGrid vs Provet Cloud comparison works
Both are cloud practice software for veterinary clinics, and both publish a price, so the tables compare them on the same 36 rows every PetGrid comparison uses: everyday work, medical records, money, the owner app and messaging, AI, security, getting your data out, and price and contract.
- Sources. Provet's pricing, features, AI, data security and terms pages, its enterprise page and a help centre article, all read on 26 September 2026 and listed at the end.
- Not stated means we did not find it on Provet's own pages. It may exist, so ask Provet before you rule it out.
- PetGrid's cells are written once for every comparison and read from the product, including what it does not do yet: no lab integration, no independent audit and no clinic live on AI Front Desk.
Each PetGrid feature in the tables has its own page, for example patient records, AI Assist and import and export.
Provet Cloud and PetGrid side by side
Provet Cloud and PetGrid compared, from Provet's own pages as read on 26 September 2026.
Everyday work
Provet Cloud is ahead on everyday work, with self-service booking and full inventory; PetGrid's booking is a request your team confirms, its inventory is basic and it has no lab integration.
| Feature | PetGrid | Provet Cloud |
|---|---|---|
| Online booking | Yes, as requests your team confirms | Yes, self-service |
| Staff calendar sync (Google, Outlook) | Google, both ways; Outlook and Apple by read-only feed | Not stated |
| Inventory and dispensing | Yes, basic | Yes, full |
| Lab integration (IDEXX, Antech) | No | Not stated |
Medical records
PetGrid states an audit trail with addenda and a one-click complete record release; Provet Cloud gives 60 days to retrieve records after leaving.
| Feature | PetGrid | Provet Cloud |
|---|---|---|
| Audit trail and addenda on clinical entries | Yes | Not stated |
| Complete record export and release | Yes, one click | 60 days to retrieve after leaving |
| Printable rabies certificate | Yes | Yes (US help article) |
Money
PetGrid states both: drugs billed apart from services and sales tax on invoices; we found neither stated for Provet Cloud.
| Feature | PetGrid | Provet Cloud |
|---|---|---|
| Drugs billed separately from services | Yes | Not stated |
| Sales tax on client invoices | Yes, GST/HST, PST, QST or a US rate | Not stated |
Owner app and messaging
PetGrid is ahead on the owner app: Provet Cloud offers booking, reminders and texting, but we found no owner app.
| Feature | PetGrid | Provet Cloud |
|---|---|---|
| Pet owner portal included | Yes | Booking and reminders; no app found |
| Appointment and care reminders by email | Yes | Yes |
| Two-way SMS | Yes, with the paid AI Front Desk add-on | Yes |
AI
Provet Cloud sells its AI Scribe and discharge drafts as add-ons; PetGrid includes note drafts, summaries and record reading, though its phone receptionist is not live at a clinic yet.
| Feature | PetGrid | Provet Cloud |
|---|---|---|
| AI note drafts (SOAP, with vitals) | SOAP drafts from shorthand or dictation, vitals filled in, a vet approves (included) | AI Scribe add-on, US$40 per user |
| AI phone receptionist | AI Front Desk add-on: answers, books and takes messages in English or French; rolling out as clinics' phone lines are connected, none live yet | Not described |
| Automated confirmation calls | Built, with AI Front Desk; no clinic live yet | Not stated |
| AI reply drafts for client messages | Yes, staff edit and send (included) | Not stated |
| AI patient history summary | Yes, AI Assist (included) | Not stated |
| AI reading of old records and paper files | Yes, PDFs and photos; staff accept each item (free) | Not stated |
| Clinic knowledge base the AI answers from | Yes, clinic memory, with AI Front Desk | Not stated |
| Plain-language visit summaries for owners | Yes, a vet approves (free) | Drafts discharge instructions (add-on) |
| AI assistant in the owner app | Yes, Pip, plus a symptom helper the clinic turns on; never diagnoses | No owner app found |
| Owner can opt a pet out of AI | Yes, per pet, at any time | Not stated |
Security
Provet Cloud is ahead on security paperwork: it holds ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II, and PetGrid has no independent audit yet.
| Feature | PetGrid | Provet Cloud |
|---|---|---|
| Each clinic's data walled off in the database | Yes, row-level security forced on every table | Not stated |
| Two-step sign-in (MFA) | Yes, required for admins; can be required for all staff | Not stated |
| Encrypted backups | Nightly, encrypted, kept 35 days | Not stated |
| Where the data is hosted | Secure cloud, encrypted in transit and at rest | Not stated |
| Independent audit (SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test) | No, not yet | ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II |
Getting your data out
PetGrid is ahead on getting data out, with CSV reports, accounting files, a whole-clinic ZIP any time and record transfers; Provet Cloud gives 60 days after leaving, format not stated.
| Feature | PetGrid | Provet Cloud |
|---|---|---|
| Reports downloadable as CSV | Yes: revenue, daily close, aging, clients, reminders | Not stated |
| Accounting files (QuickBooks Online, Xero) | Yes, files they import; no live sync | Not stated |
| Whole-clinic data export | Yes, one ZIP any time: spreadsheets, a data file, PDFs and stored files | 60 days to retrieve after leaving, format not stated |
| Record transfer to another clinic | Yes: the owner asks, staff approve, sent to the clinic's PetGrid inbox or by link | Not stated |
| Record copies for pet owners | Yes: the full record as a PDF on request, a vaccine record, share links | Not stated |
Price and contract
Both publish a price; PetGrid imports clients and visit history for free, and Provet Cloud scopes migration in a statement of work.
| Feature | PetGrid | Provet Cloud |
|---|---|---|
| Price published on the vendor's own site | Yes | Yes |
| Setup or onboarding fee | None | Not stated |
| Client and pet import | Yes, free | Yes, scoped in a statement of work |
| Visit history import | Yes, free | Yes, medical histories |
What the table does not show
A table flattens differences of degree. Provet's invoicing is broader, with unified payments; PetGrid has estimates the owner signs, per-line sales tax and card payments through the clinic's own Stripe account.
- Terms. Provet sets initial and renewal terms in each subscription agreement, with at least three months' notice to end one. PetGrid is monthly with no long-term contract, and price changes come with 30 days' notice.
- Going live. Provet describes typical go-live as 8 to 12 weeks, with migration scoped in a statement of work. PetGrid's imports are free, but you run them yourself and see every row before it is saved.
- Support. Provet offers live chat, phone and email. PetGrid offers email support from the PetGrid team, Monday to Friday, 9:00 to 17:00 Eastern Time, with no phone line.
- Leaving. Provet gives 60 days after termination to retrieve data, format not specified. PetGrid keeps records for 30 days after cancelling and names the format: one ZIP of CSV spreadsheets, a JSON file, PDFs and the stored files.
Which one fits your clinic?
Choose Provet Cloud if full inventory, a listening AI scribe, certifications on paper and phone support are worth a term agreement to you. Choose PetGrid if you want month-to-month billing at $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, an owner app in your clinic's name, free self-serve imports and records that are never edited.
The Provet Cloud alternative guide sets out the reasons in prose, and our guide to veterinary practice management software in Canada puts the other main systems beside both. The pricing questions in the clinic FAQ cover billing.
Questions people ask
What is the main difference between PetGrid and Provet Cloud?
Provet Cloud is the broader product, with full inventory, a listening AI scribe, certifications and phone support. PetGrid is the lighter commitment for small clinics: monthly, self-serve, with an owner app in the clinic's name and a whole-clinic export at any time. Both publish their prices.
Is PetGrid cheaper than Provet Cloud?
It depends on your headcount and currency, because both publish prices and both charge per vet with support staff free. Provet lists Core at a US$249 monthly platform fee with one vet plus US$99 per extra vet. PetGrid is $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, with no setup fee.
Which has more AI, Provet Cloud or PetGrid?
Provet has the listening scribe: its AI Scribe add-on, US$40 per user a month, writes notes, captures charges and drafts discharge instructions. PetGrid includes AI Assist for every vet, which drafts SOAP notes from shorthand or dictation, plus record reading, vet-approved visit summaries for owners and Pip.
Which is more secure, PetGrid or Provet Cloud?
Provet has the independent proof: ISO 27001:2022 certification and SOC 2 Type II, while PetGrid has no audit yet. PetGrid states that each clinic's data is walled off by row-level security, admins sign in with a second step, and backups are encrypted nightly. The security page has the detail.
Can I move from Provet Cloud to PetGrid?
Yes, if you export clients, pets and visit history as CSV files; PetGrid imports them free and shows every row before saving. Mind Provet's notice period of at least three months. Our post on switching veterinary software without losing data walks through it.
The short version
Row by row, Provet Cloud wins on inventory, the AI scribe, messaging, certifications and support, and PetGrid wins on the owner app, monthly terms and getting your data out. Both publish a price.
If PetGrid's side of the table fits your clinic, try it with 14 days free and no card, import a few clients, and compare for yourself.
Switching to PetGrid
Questions about switching? Ask Theo
Theo, PetGrid's AI assistant, helps any clinic with switching, from moving your records to what comes across. When Theo cannot answer, someone from the PetGrid team calls you back.
Or call Theo now: (365) 217-9922
Or message Theo on WhatsAppOn a computer? Scan with your phone to open WhatsApp.
Theo only calls during calling hours where you are: 9:00 to 21:30 on weekdays, 10:00 to 18:00 at weekends. Outside them, Theo calls the next weekday morning.
See PetGrid in your own clinic: the console, the AI drafts and the app your clients get, with your own data.
Start your free trialPrices in CAD
Sources
Every fact about another product or organisation comes from these pages, read on the date shown.

