PetGrid vs Digitail, in short: Digitail is ahead on AI for the vet, phones, texting, payments and 24/7 support, and PetGrid is ahead on a published price, AI for pet owners and getting your data out. This page sets the two side by side in 36 rows, grouped into eight tables, each with a one-line verdict.
Every Digitail cell comes from Digitail's own pages or Capterra, checked on 26 September 2026, and every PetGrid cell is what the product does today. For the shorter read on why clinics switch and where Digitail is the better choice, see our Digitail alternative guide.
How this PetGrid vs Digitail comparison works
Both are cloud practice software for veterinary clinics, so the tables compare them on the same 36 rows every PetGrid comparison uses: everyday work, medical records, money, the owner app and messaging, AI, security, getting your data out, and price and contract.
- Sources. Digitail's plans, features, Tails AI, VoIP and help pages, its data privacy and migration articles, and its Capterra listing, all checked on 26 September 2026 and listed at the end.
- Not stated means we did not find it on Digitail's own pages. It may exist, so ask Digitail before you rule it out.
- PetGrid's cells are written once for every comparison and read from the product, including what it does not do yet: no lab integration, no independent audit and no clinic live on AI Front Desk.
Each PetGrid feature in the tables has its own page, for example patient records, AI Assist and import and export.
Digitail and PetGrid side by side
Digitail and PetGrid compared, from Digitail's pages and Capterra, checked 26 September 2026.
Everyday work
Digitail is ahead on everyday work: owners book directly at any hour and inventory comes with analytics, while PetGrid's booking is a request your team confirms and its inventory is basic.
| Feature | PetGrid | Digitail |
|---|---|---|
| Online booking | Yes, as requests your team confirms | Yes, 24/7 |
| Staff calendar sync (Google, Outlook) | Google, both ways; Outlook and Apple by read-only feed | Not stated |
| Inventory and dispensing | Yes, basic | Yes, with analytics |
| Lab integration (IDEXX, Antech) | No | Not stated |
Medical records
Both give owners the rabies certificate; PetGrid also states an audit trail with addenda and a one-click complete record release.
| Feature | PetGrid | Digitail |
|---|---|---|
| Audit trail and addenda on clinical entries | Yes | Not stated |
| Complete record export and release | Yes, one click | Not stated |
| Printable rabies certificate | Yes | Rabies certificates in the app |
Money
Both put sales tax on invoices; PetGrid also bills drugs apart from services, which we did not find stated for Digitail.
| Feature | PetGrid | Digitail |
|---|---|---|
| Drugs billed separately from services | Yes | Not stated |
| Sales tax on client invoices | Yes, GST/HST, PST, QST or a US rate | Yes |
Owner app and messaging
Even: both include an owner app and email reminders; Digitail sends text reminders, and PetGrid offers two-way texting with its paid AI Front Desk add-on.
| Feature | PetGrid | Digitail |
|---|---|---|
| Pet owner portal included | Yes | Yes, native app |
| Appointment and care reminders by email | Yes | Yes |
| Two-way SMS | Yes, with the paid AI Front Desk add-on | Text reminders |
AI
Digitail is ahead on the vet's side, with its Tails AI Scribe and phone assistant; PetGrid is ahead on AI for owners, with vet-approved visit summaries, Pip and record reading.
| Feature | PetGrid | Digitail |
|---|---|---|
| AI note drafts (SOAP, with vitals) | SOAP drafts from shorthand or dictation, vitals filled in, a vet approves (included) | Yes, Tails AI Scribe |
| AI phone receptionist | AI Front Desk add-on: answers, books and takes messages in English or French; rolling out as clinics' phone lines are connected, none live yet | Tails AI assistant triages and books; Digitail VoIP calls with AI summaries |
| Automated confirmation calls | Built, with AI Front Desk; no clinic live yet | Not stated |
| AI reply drafts for client messages | Yes, staff edit and send (included) | Not stated |
| AI patient history summary | Yes, AI Assist (included) | Yes, medical summaries (Growth AI) |
| AI reading of old records and paper files | Yes, PDFs and photos; staff accept each item (free) | Not stated |
| Clinic knowledge base the AI answers from | Yes, clinic memory, with AI Front Desk | Not stated |
| Plain-language visit summaries for owners | Yes, a vet approves (free) | Not stated |
| AI assistant in the owner app | Yes, Pip, plus a symptom helper the clinic turns on; never diagnoses | Not stated |
| Owner can opt a pet out of AI | Yes, per pet, at any time | Not stated |
Security
Digitail runs regular penetration tests and PetGrid has no independent audit yet; PetGrid states its database walls, MFA and nightly encrypted backups.
| Feature | PetGrid | Digitail |
|---|---|---|
| Each clinic's data walled off in the database | Yes, row-level security forced on every table | Not stated |
| Two-step sign-in (MFA) | Yes, required for admins; can be required for all staff | Not stated |
| Encrypted backups | Nightly, encrypted, kept 35 days | Not stated |
| Where the data is hosted | Secure cloud, encrypted in transit and at rest | AWS, region not stated |
| Independent audit (SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test) | No, not yet | Regular penetration tests |
Getting your data out
PetGrid is ahead on getting data out, with CSV reports, accounting files, a whole-clinic ZIP and record transfers; we found no export process on Digitail's pages.
| Feature | PetGrid | Digitail |
|---|---|---|
| Reports downloadable as CSV | Yes: revenue, daily close, aging, clients, reminders | Not stated |
| Accounting files (QuickBooks Online, Xero) | Yes, files they import; no live sync | Not stated |
| Whole-clinic data export | Yes, one ZIP any time: spreadsheets, a data file, PDFs and stored files | Not stated |
| Record transfer to another clinic | Yes: the owner asks, staff approve, sent to the clinic's PetGrid inbox or by link | Not stated |
| Record copies for pet owners | Yes: the full record as a PDF on request, a vaccine record, share links | Not stated |
Price and contract
PetGrid publishes its price and Digitail does not; both import clients, pets and visit history, Digitail with its own migration team.
| Feature | PetGrid | Digitail |
|---|---|---|
| Price published on the vendor's own site | Yes | No |
| Setup or onboarding fee | None | Not stated |
| Client and pet import | Yes, free | Yes, in-house migration included |
| Visit history import | Yes, free | Yes |
What the table does not show
A table flattens differences of degree. Digitail books owners directly while PetGrid sends requests your team confirms, and Digitail's dictation is more advanced, while PetGrid's entries are never edited once saved: a correction is an addendum with its own author, date and reason.
- Support. Digitail offers 24/7 support by chat and email with one-to-one onboarding. PetGrid offers email support from the PetGrid team, Monday to Friday, 9:00 to 17:00 Eastern Time, with a target of one business day and no phone line.
- Migration. Digitail's plans include in-house migration, with migrated data in a test portal within a week and a hypercare period of 4 to 6 weeks. PetGrid's imports are free, but you run them yourself and see every row before it is saved.
- Payments. Digitail has automatic charge capture and integrated payments. PetGrid takes cards through the clinic's own Stripe account, off until switched on.
- Leaving. Digitail says vets own the data they and their staff create, but we found no export process on its pages. A PetGrid admin can download the whole clinic as one ZIP at any time, and records are kept for 30 days after cancelling.
Which one fits your clinic?
Choose Digitail if an AI scribe, voice to invoice, phones, texting and round-the-clock support are worth a quoted, per-user price to you. Choose PetGrid if you want the price on the page, $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, free self-serve imports, records that are never edited and an owner app in your clinic's name.
The Digitail alternative guide sets out the reasons in prose, and our guide to veterinary practice management software in Canada puts the other main systems beside both. The pricing questions in the clinic FAQ cover billing.
Questions people ask
What is the main difference between PetGrid and Digitail?
Digitail is the broader, AI-first suite, with a scribe, phones, texting and 24/7 support. PetGrid is the narrower, priced-in-public option for small clinics, with never-edited records, AI for pet owners and a whole-clinic export at any time. Both include an owner app and import clients, pets and visit history.
Is PetGrid cheaper than Digitail?
Digitail does not publish a price, so only a quote can tell you. Capterra lists a third-party starting price of US$289 per user per month, which may be out of date. PetGrid is $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian with no setup fee, and vet techs and front desk staff are free.
Which has more AI, Digitail or PetGrid?
Digitail has more AI for the vet and the front desk: a listening scribe, voice to invoice and an assistant that triages and books. PetGrid has more AI for pet owners: vet-approved visit summaries and Pip, plus AI that reads old records into the chart. PetGrid's AI Assist drafts SOAP notes from shorthand or dictation and is included for every vet.
Which is more secure, PetGrid or Digitail?
Digitail is regularly penetration tested and PetGrid has no independent audit yet, so Digitail has the outside check. PetGrid states that each clinic's data is walled off by row-level security, admins sign in with a second step, and backups are encrypted nightly and kept for 35 days. The security page has the detail.
Can I move from Digitail to PetGrid?
Yes, if you can get clients, pets and visit history out as CSV or Excel files. PetGrid imports them free and shows every row before saving. Ask Digitail for a full export before you give notice; our post on switching veterinary software without losing data walks through it.
The short version
Row by row, Digitail wins on the vet's AI, phones, texting, payments and support, and PetGrid wins on a public price, AI for owners and getting your data out. The rest is close.
If PetGrid's side of the table fits your clinic, try it with 14 days free and no card, import a few clients, and compare for yourself.
Switching to PetGrid
Questions about switching? Ask Theo
Theo, PetGrid's AI assistant, helps any clinic with switching, from moving your records to what comes across. When Theo cannot answer, someone from the PetGrid team calls you back.
Or call Theo now: (365) 217-9922
Or message Theo on WhatsAppOn a computer? Scan with your phone to open WhatsApp.
Theo only calls during calling hours where you are: 9:00 to 21:30 on weekdays, 10:00 to 18:00 at weekends. Outside them, Theo calls the next weekday morning.
See PetGrid in your own clinic: the console, the AI drafts and the app your clients get, with your own data.
Start your free trialPrices in CAD
Sources
Every fact about another product or organisation comes from these pages, read on the date shown.
- Digitail plans, which carry no prices ()
- Digitail features ()
- Digitail Tails AI ()
- Digitail VoIP ()
- Digitail help: the pet parent app ()
- Digitail help: clinic preferences and tax ()
- Digitail: data and data privacy ()
- Digitail: the data migration experience ()
- Capterra: Digitail, 4.7 stars from 105 reviews, and third-party pricing ()

