The best veterinary practice management software for a Canadian clinic depends on what it already relies on: IDEXX labs, a Covetrus supply account, a server in the back room, or none of these. This roundup compares eight systems, IDEXX Neo, Digitail, Covetrus Pulse, Provet Cloud, Shepherd, Cornerstone, AVImark and PetGrid, on the things that decide a purchase: price, hosting, the owner app and where each one is genuinely strong.
PetGrid is one of the eight, and we make it. So every rival fact below comes from that vendor's own pages, or a named third party, as they read on 26 September 2026, and each product gets a fair note on where it is ahead.
Veterinary practice management software in Canada, at a glance
Two of the eight publish a price on their own site, two still run on a server in the clinic, and only some include an owner app in the price. The table sums up what each vendor says.
| Product | Runs on | Price on its own site | Owner app | Notable strength |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IDEXX Neo | Cloud, on Amazon Web Services | No | Vello, a separate add-on | IDEXX in-house and reference lab integration |
| Digitail | Cloud, data stored in AWS | No | Native Pet Parent App, every plan | Tails AI, VoIP calling and 24/7 support |
| Covetrus Pulse | Cloud | No | GreatPetCare, a separate product | Covetrus pharmacy and supply ecosystem |
| Provet Cloud | Cloud | Yes | Booking and reminders; no app found | Breadth, full inventory, ISO 27001 |
| Shepherd | Cloud | No | Web pet portal | SOAP-to-invoice flow, built-in texting |
| IDEXX Cornerstone | Server in the clinic | No | Vello, sold separately | IDEXX diagnostics, long support hours |
| AVImark | Server in the clinic | No | Not described | Inventory, reordering, CUBEX |
| PetGrid | Cloud, encrypted in transit and at rest | Yes | Included, in the clinic's name | Published price, free imports, CVO-style records |
Only Provet Cloud and PetGrid publish a price on their own site. For the other six, the only route to a number is a sales conversation or a third-party listing.
AI, security and getting your data out are where the eight differ most once you look past the price. The second table sets out what each vendor says on those three; Not stated means we did not find it on the vendor's own pages.
| Product | AI | Security on paper | Getting your data out |
|---|---|---|---|
| IDEXX Neo | Not stated | AWS hosting, automatic backups | Data export in reporting |
| Digitail | Tails AI: scribe, voice to invoice, triage and booking | Data in AWS, regular penetration tests | Not stated |
| Covetrus Pulse | Covetrus AI, SOAP note generation | Encryption described; certifications not stated | Not stated |
| Provet Cloud | AI Scribe add-on | ISO 27001:2022, SOC 2 Type II | 60 days to retrieve after leaving |
| Shepherd | ShepherdAI add-ons, TranscribeAI among them | Not stated | Records can be exported |
| IDEXX Cornerstone | Not stated | Your own server and backups | Client and patient lists to CSV |
| AVImark | Not stated | Your own server and backups | Exports to CSV |
| PetGrid | Included: SOAP drafts with vitals, reply drafts, history summaries, record reading, owner summaries and Pip; AI Front Desk add-on rolling out as clinics' phone lines are connected | Each clinic walled off by row-level security, MFA for admins, nightly encrypted backups, a logged record trail; no SOC 2 yet | One ZIP of everything at any time, CSV reports, QuickBooks Online and Xero files, record transfer to another clinic |
IDEXX Neo and Covetrus Pulse: software from the lab and supply companies
Neo and Pulse are cloud systems sold by companies that also sell clinics something else, which is their biggest strength and the main reason clinics look elsewhere.
IDEXX Neo is cloud-based, hosted on Amazon Web Services, and ties into IDEXX's in-house and reference labs in a way no independent product can match. It has 117 reviews on Capterra at 4.2 stars. IDEXX publishes no price; Capterra lists US$290 a month for three users, a US$2,375 setup and training fee and a US$590 data conversion, third-party figures that may be out of date. The client app, Vello, is a separate add-on. Read the IDEXX Neo alternative guide or PetGrid vs IDEXX Neo, feature by feature.
Covetrus Pulse lists embedded Covetrus AI, SOAP note generation and prescriptions created and renewed inside the system, with inventory connected to Covetrus Supply and an online pharmacy with shipping. Texting and booking come through Covetrus Comms, and the pet parent portal is GreatPetCare, both separate products. It has 542 reviews on Capterra at 4.0 stars, and Covetrus publishes no price. If you already buy from Covetrus, that one relationship is a real convenience. See the Covetrus Pulse alternative guide or PetGrid vs Covetrus Pulse, feature by feature.
Digitail, Provet Cloud and Shepherd: the independent cloud systems
These three are cloud products sold on their own, and each leads PetGrid on at least one thing a clinic will notice on day one.
Digitail has put the most into AI: Tails AI covers a scribe, voice to invoice and an assistant that triages and books. It also has a native pet parent app, VoIP calling inside the product and 24/7 support by chat and email. Users rate it 4.7 stars from 105 reviews on Capterra. Its plans page carries no prices; Capterra lists a starting price of US$289 per user per month. Read the Digitail alternative guide or PetGrid vs Digitail, feature by feature.
Provet Cloud, from Nordhealth, does what almost nobody here does: it publishes a full price list, Core at a US$249 monthly platform fee with one vet plus US$99 per extra vet. It has full inventory with automatic reorders, an AI scribe add-on, and ISO 27001 certification, and Nordhealth says it runs in more than 3,000 clinics across 45 countries. The catch for a small clinic is commitment: terms are set in an agreement with at least three months' notice, and go-live typically takes 8 to 12 weeks. See the Provet Cloud alternative guide or PetGrid vs Provet Cloud, feature by feature.
Shepherd is independent, SOAP-centred and built so that finishing the note updates the record and the invoice together. Two-way SMS and MMS, mass texting and reminders are built in, support is live chat inside the product, and it rates 4.7 stars from 89 reviews on Capterra. It acquired Hippo Manager. Shepherd discusses pricing in a demo; Capterra lists a starting price of US$299 a month. Onboarding takes 4 to 6 weeks, or 8 to 10 with historical records. Read the Shepherd alternative guide or PetGrid vs Shepherd, feature by feature.
Cornerstone and AVImark: the server-based systems
Cornerstone and AVImark are long-established systems installed on a server in the clinic, so backups, updates and the machine itself are the clinic's job.
IDEXX Cornerstone is on version 9.7, with deep ties into IDEXX diagnostics and the longest support hours in this list: phone, chat and email Monday to Friday 6:30am to 8pm CT and Saturday 7am to 4pm CT, and in Canada a Sentry tier adds 24-hour on-call cover for critical issues. It has 183 reviews on Capterra at 4.0 stars. IDEXX publishes no price; Capterra lists a starting price of US$549 a month. Read the Cornerstone alternative guide or PetGrid vs Cornerstone, feature by feature.
AVImark is a Covetrus system with 599 reviews on Capterra at 4.1 stars, and Capterra's profile says it runs in over 11,000 veterinary hospitals. It is strong on inventory, with reordering, CUBEX integration and Intelligent Inventory, and connects to the vRxPro online pharmacy. Remote access means remote desktop software. Covetrus publishes no price, and its own cost-of-ownership article puts server hardware for server-based software at US$3,000 to US$7,000, replaced every three to five years. See the AVImark alternative guide or PetGrid vs AVImark, feature by feature.
Both are still supported, so nothing forces a move. When a clinic does move, the usual reason is that nobody wants the server to be their job any more.
Where does PetGrid fit, and where does it fall short?
PetGrid fits a small independent clinic that wants a published price, a free self-serve start and records built to the College of Veterinarians of Ontario standard. It is $259 CAD a month per practice plus $90 CAD per veterinarian, with no setup fee, vet techs, front desk and pet owners free, monthly terms and 14 days free with no card. The full figures are on the pricing page.
Saved clinical entries are never edited: a correction is an addendum with its own author, date and reason, as patient records explains. Clients, pets, visit history and vaccine history come in free from CSV files, and the complete record for a patient is released in one click. The owner app carries your clinic's name and is included; it is also free for owners and works on its own, with no clinic. More on that in the app for your clients.
AI is in every plan. AI Assist drafts SOAP notes from a vet's shorthand or dictation with the vitals filled in, summarises a patient's history and drafts replies to owners, and AI reads old records, PDFs and photos into the chart. A vet approves every summary an owner sees, and owners can ask Pip, your pet's Wellness Buddy in the app. The AI Front Desk phone add-on is the one paid AI feature.
Your data stays yours and easy to move. Reports download as CSV, accounting files import into QuickBooks Online and Xero, an owner's record transfers to another clinic once staff approve, and an admin can download the whole clinic as one ZIP at any time; see reports and accounting. Each clinic is walled off in the database, admins sign in with a second step and backups are encrypted nightly.
Its limits are real, and we would rather you read them here:
- No lab integration with IDEXX or Antech. Results are filed on the chart by your team.
- Basic inventory: no purchase orders, automatic reordering or supplier price feeds.
- Two-way texting is new, and part of the paid AI Front Desk add-on, which comes with the clinic's number.
- The AI Front Desk phone receptionist is built and rolling out as clinics' phone lines are connected; no clinic is live on it yet.
- Encrypted in transit and at rest, but no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 audit and no formal penetration test yet. Details on the security page.
- Email support only, Monday to Friday, 9:00 to 17:00 Eastern Time. No phone line and no 24/7 cover.
- Lab, invoice and inventory history are not imported, and PetGrid has no reviews yet.
How to choose veterinary practice management software for your clinic
Choose on seven questions, and ask every vendor the same ones in writing before you sign.
- Can I see the price before a call? Ask for the monthly fee, the per-user or per-vet charge, setup, data conversion and every add-on, such as the owner app or AI.
- Does it meet my college's records standard? In Ontario that is the CVO standard: entries attributed and dated, corrections that keep the original, drugs billed apart from services. Most vendors do not say how corrections are handled, so ask. Our Ontario clinics page covers it.
- Do I need lab results in the chart automatically? If you run IDEXX diagnostics end to end, Neo and Cornerstone do this and PetGrid does not.
- How does migration work, and what is left behind? Ask who does it, how long it takes, what it costs and which history comes across. Our guide to switching veterinary software without losing data has a checklist.
- How do I get my data out if I leave? Ask for the format and how long you have after cancelling. Provet gives 60 days; PetGrid keeps records for 30 days and names the files.
- What does the AI do, and who checks it? Ask which AI is included and which is an add-on, whether a person approves what it writes, whether owners can opt out, and whether records train the model.
- What support hours do I get? They range from 24/7 at Digitail to weekday email only at PetGrid.
The right system is the one whose weak spots you can live with. Every product in this list is behind somewhere, PetGrid included.
Questions people ask
What is the best veterinary practice management software in Canada?
There is no single best system; it depends on what your clinic relies on. IDEXX Neo suits clinics built around IDEXX labs, Covetrus Pulse suits Covetrus buyers, Digitail leads on AI and support, Provet Cloud on breadth, and Shepherd on texting. PetGrid suits a small clinic that wants a published price, free imports and records built to the CVO standard.
Which veterinary software publishes its price?
Of the eight compared here, only Provet Cloud and PetGrid publish a price on their own site. IDEXX, Covetrus, Digitail and Shepherd do not, so the figures you see for them come from third parties such as Capterra and may be out of date.
Is cloud or server-based veterinary software better?
Cloud software removes the server from your list of jobs: no machine to back up, patch or replace. Server-based systems such as Cornerstone and AVImark keep the data physically in your building, but its safety then depends on that machine and your backups.
Which veterinary software integrates with IDEXX labs?
IDEXX Neo and IDEXX Cornerstone integrate with IDEXX diagnostics. PetGrid has no lab integration with IDEXX or Antech yet, so your team files results on the chart. Check with each other vendor directly, as their pages did not settle it for us.
How does PetGrid protect clinic records?
PetGrid encrypts clinic records in transit and at rest, and backs them up every night in encrypted form. Each practice is walled off by Postgres row-level security, and the security and privacy questions cover what is and is not in place yet.
How long does it take to switch practice management software?
It ranges from days to months. Provet describes 8 to 12 weeks to go live, Shepherd 8 to 10 weeks with historical records, and Covetrus 3 to 5 weeks for a first AVImark conversion pass. With PetGrid you import your own CSV files, so the pace is yours; see the switching questions.
Which veterinary practice management software includes AI?
Most of the eight now offer some AI. Digitail's Tails AI, Provet's AI Scribe add-on, Shepherd's ShepherdAI add-ons and Covetrus AI in Pulse all write or generate notes. PetGrid includes AI Assist in every plan for SOAP drafts, reply drafts and history summaries, with a vet approving every note, and its AI Front Desk phone add-on is rolling out as clinics' phone lines are connected.
The short version
Each of these eight systems is strong somewhere: IDEXX on labs, Covetrus on supply, Digitail on AI and support, Provet on breadth, Shepherd on texting, and the server systems on long track records. PetGrid's case is a published price, a free self-serve start, records built to the CVO standard, AI included in every plan, your data out at any time and an owner app in your clinic's name, with the limits listed above.
If that trade suits your clinic, the quickest way to judge is to try it with your own data: 14 days free, no card, and your old system can keep running until you are sure.
See PetGrid in your own clinic: the console, the AI drafts and the app your clients get, with your own data.
Start your free trialPrices in CAD
Sources
Every fact about another product or organisation comes from these pages, read on the date shown.
- IDEXX Neo features ()
- IDEXX Neo pricing page, which carries no figures ()
- IDEXX Neo for current customers: hosting and support ()
- Capterra: IDEXX Neo, 4.2 stars from 117 reviews, and third-party pricing ()
- Digitail plans, which carry no prices ()
- Digitail Tails AI ()
- Digitail VoIP ()
- Capterra: Digitail, 4.7 stars from 105 reviews, and third-party pricing ()
- Covetrus Pulse ()
- Covetrus Comms ()
- Capterra: Covetrus Pulse, 4.0 stars from 542 reviews ()
- Provet pricing ()
- Provet data security ()
- Provet terms of service ()
- Nordhealth: more than 3,000 clinics across 45 countries ()
- Shepherd for general practice: onboarding, pricing in a demo ()
- Shepherd client communication ()
- Shepherd: Hippo Manager has been acquired ()
- Capterra: Shepherd, 4.7 stars from 89 reviews, and third-party pricing ()
- Cornerstone for current customers: version and support hours ()
- IDEXX Canada: Cornerstone support tiers ()
- Capterra: Cornerstone, 4.0 stars from 183 reviews, and third-party pricing ()
- Covetrus AVImark ()
- Covetrus AVImark support and data conversion ()
- Covetrus: total cost of ownership for veterinary software ()
- Capterra: AVImark, 4.1 stars from 599 reviews ()
- Digitail: data and data privacy ()
- Covetrus Pulse, cloud and encryption ()
- Shepherd TranscribeAI ()
- IDEXX Cornerstone ()
- PetGrid pricing ()

